Tags

, ,

I am sad to say as a student of English Literature, that I can’t actually remember the last time I read anything that wasn’t given to me as part of my course. I used to be such a big reader; I easily got through a book a week and I remember I went through a stage at around 14 where I made it my mission to read as many classics as possible. Since starting Sixth Form, I can’t seem to get round to settling down with a good book and cup of tea… which is something I have decided absolutely must change. For that reason, I had a small shopping spree and thought I would show you what exactly I treated myself to. Maybe if you’re a bit like me, reading about these different novels might inspire you to try to find some time for a good book.

Before I Go To Sleep:

DSCF1888

I finished reading this in two days; it was the kind of book where you just need to know how things turn out. In short, its about a lady called Christine who suffers from amnesia, she forgets everything she knows about her life every time she sleeps. She spends the novel trying to figure out exactly what happened to her to make her this way, and what her life consisted of before. All I’ll say is it has some breath taking plot twists.

We Are All Completely Besides Ourselves:

DSCF1898I actually purchased this after reading a review of it from The Lilac Scrapbook. I love books that have a mystery, as it keeps me engaged and drives me to read on. The blurb tells me the book is about a girl called Rosemary, who “had a sister… who vanished from her life in circumstances she wishes she could forget”. This will be the next book I read, as I am already ridiculously intrigued!

Moll Flanders

DSCF1891This book is in fact part of my English Course; we happened to read an extract in class and I enjoyed it so much that I just have to read the whole book. The books plot contains Moll’s: “early seduction, careers in crime and prostitution, conviction for theft and transportation to the plantations of Virginia”. This sounds action packed to say the least, and I am interested to find out how a prostitute will be portrayed in the neoclassical period. As a sidenote, is it just me that finds the front cover a bit odd? Why are nipples and a farmyard animal in the same picture? I am clueless.

Ariel

DSCF1893I read Sylvia Plath’s The Bell Jar around three years ago, and no exaggeration it made me cry for around a day solid. It was one of the most beautiful and thought provoking texts I have ever read, and for that reason I think its about time I get around to reading some of her poems. I will have tissues ready for great tear fall this time round.

Divergent and Insurgent

DSCF1900I purchased both of these because of a recommendation from a friend, she read them and absolutely loved them! Plus, when I was at the cinema recently I saw an advert for the film adaptation of Divergent, and really want to go see it. As books are usually better than the film adaptations, I thought I best get round to reading it before going to the cinema (Plus it gives me a better chance of knowing what’s going on on the big screen). I’m not even going to attempt to explain what I understand of the plot, so here is the blurb from Divergent:

“In a society divided into factions all are forced to choose where they belong. And the choice Beatrice Prior makes shocks everyone, including herself. During extreme initiation tests, Tris must determine who her friends are and whether she can trust the man who both threatens and protects her. Because Tris has a deadly secret. One that might save those she loves… or destroy her”.

As I am hoping this post will inspire others into reading, I have put links to Waterstones where I personally purchased the books (links are located above each book photo). I think its so important that we all make time to relax, and I can’t think of anything better to do that than by reading a good book. I would love to hear any of your own book recommendations, and whether you have enjoyed any of the titles I have purchased. Theres no doubt in my mind that there will be another book haul quite soon! Bye for now xxx

